Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Design, Development, Building Systems and Operations

Old 07-24-2009, 04:16 PM

Default Standard spacing for server rack?

Does anyone know what the standard square foot spacing is for a single server rack? I could have sworn I have seen this number before in a white paper, but I cannot find it again for the life of me; and I need to find this number to give an estimate for how many racks I can fit in a given data center.

Last edited by amattson; 07-24-2009 at 04:51 PM.
Old 07-25-2009, 12:08 AM

That depends on your tile layout (if you are using a RAF), are you planning to use a 7 or 8 tile span? A rule of thumb for a 7 tile layout is 19 - 23 (this includes all the Data Center white space).
Old 07-27-2009, 04:12 PM

I am somewhat new to data centers and especially the building and planning process. You mentioned RAF in the previous post, could you please explain to me what this exactly means?
Old 08-04-2009, 10:25 PM

Sorry for the week late response, but I unfortunately don't know what the tile spacing will be. I've been asked to gather a lot of data center calculations for an unknown data center of unknown specs and just wanted to see if there was a general spacing rule to follow. I ended up giving them a 18 sq ft spacing rule per server rack, 2' x 9', for the time being.
Old 08-05-2009, 10:41 AM

Send a message via MSN to Schumie

I unfortunatley don't have a square foot figure as we generally look at the overall site in terms of power and square footage to figure out density, and whether to shrink down or make big depending on what we get.