Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Design, Development, Building Systems and Operations

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-14-2012, 04:41 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default Power to the Rack

Over on Server Technology's Data Center Power Blog, Bob Parente gives a neat, non-technical overview of how to provision power to a rack -- a common question on these forums. He notes that there are 3 ways to add rack power: higher voltage, more amps and additional circuits. A chart helps visualize what it takes to supply various capacities in kW at different voltages.

Check out the whole article here: http://info.servertech.com/blog/bid/...ta-Center-Rack

.

Ken
__________________
DR/BC Planner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2012, 03:37 PM
jvanderveen jvanderveen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power distribution, rack capacity

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:22 AM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.