Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > Server Rack / SAN/NAS Storage Forum > Network and Telecom Forum

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-31-2008, 02:30 AM
Shifty Shifty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default Connection ?

Ok I have suitable premises, builders in my family and friends circle.
I can build my own servers, buy in racks etc. the only thing I'am
lacking info on is what do I connect my datacenter to.

I'am thinking around 1,000 1U servers running Win VPS, my target
customers will be program writers in the Delphi Programming language.
They mostly develop weblacations, thats program exe files or dll's that
run on a server often called "socket servers".

I'am based in the UK so what will I need to connect to? will it be a fibre
cable to my building ? how expensive would that be ?
Any help with info on starting up here in uk would be welcome.

Tia Shifty
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:22 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Posts: 225
Send a message via AIM to Keith Send a message via MSN to Keith
Default

Shifty,
Good Afternoon. In order to answer your question about bandwidth needed, it is important to forecast what your actual usage will be. The number of servers does not really corelate to the amount of bandwidth and what time of connection you will need. If your actual usage is going to be low and you wont necessarily have a requirement for high performance connectivity that will be necessary for your customers to serve content for end users, you may be able to justify a lower connection speed.

Here are the standard interfaces you will encounter along with their speeds:

Copper:
DS1/T1 > 1.54mbps / 0.192 MBps
DS3/T3 > 44.736mbps / 5.592 MBps

Fiber:
OC3 > 155mbps / 19.44MBps
OC48 > 2.488gbps / 311.04MBps
OC192 > 9.953gbps / 1.244GBps

There are a ton of other connection speeds. There is even an OC3072 which gives you 159.252gbps or 19.907GBps. Dependant on your requirements you can choose from that list.

Here in the states, the actually bandwidth providers provide the pricing of the loop charge to get from their facility that is charged by the company that owns the existing cabling that goes between facilities.

Good luck on what you choose and let us know what you end up doing.

--Keith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 PM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.