Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Prodcuts Reviews, Tools, Tips and Check List

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:12 AM
marchen marchen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 45
Default temperature question

Is there a way that we can measure the temperature remotely for any Rack?

Thanks,
Marchen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2008, 12:54 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default

marchen,

I don't know of a good way to do it wirelessly, but AKCP's SensorProbe 2 is the simplest and least expensive wired monitor I have found. Tempelert and IT Watchdogs are two other low-end solutions, but I found them more difficult to use. On the higher end are Netbotz and Sensaphone, which are great, but can get expensive.

I'm interested to hear what others recommend.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2008, 03:36 PM
whcdavid's Avatar
whcdavid whcdavid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 901
Default

We use HP blade system, it comes their own tool which is called ILO, you monitor the temprature using web interface. You can set the threshold value to send the notification.

Thanks,
Ananthan
__________________
WebHostingChat ( Web Hosting Forum)
DatacenterSearch (Find your Datacenter)
YOU FAIL ONLY WHEN YOU FAIL TO TRY
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:03 AM
HHSS HHSS is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: rhus, Denmark
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to HHSS
Smile

Rittal also has a system for remote monitoring called CMC-TC. It's modular in design, so the general idea is good. For small solutions I find it a little too expensive, but for larger og more complex solutions, it's brilliant. Furthermore it's easy to setup and use. It supports all the main protocols such as, SNMP, HTTP, HTTPS, Sysloc, FTP etc.
__________________
Henrik Svendsen

Datacenter System Architect
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2009, 08:16 PM
rfollwe1 rfollwe1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marchen View Post
Is there a way that we can measure the temperature remotely for any Rack?

Thanks,
Marchen
Check out Ravica.

Products | Environmental Monitoring Solutions | Temperature - Humidity - Water Leaks - Voltage - Smoke - Security

Monitors temp, humidity, water, smoke, etc.

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:51 PM
andrew25 andrew25 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

I had seen a number of remote monitoring systems used for measuring temperature and on almost all cases each data centers use totally different monitoring devices for temperature identification. We are currently using sensor probe now for this purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2009, 08:57 PM
cernst cernst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 70
Default

Geist also has a nice hardware setup where one sensor receiver can monitor up to 16 probes with each probe being up to 100' in length. Unit is pretty cost effective.
__________________
YRCW Technologies
Kansas City
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2009, 01:09 AM
hurfi hurfi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Default

I'm going through the evaluation process for facilities monitoring systems at the moment.

Heres a list of what I've come across:

RLE Technologies: Making Sense of Your World - Falcon would probably suit you more than Raptor

- Looks fairly cost effective

ISEP : Data Centre - Facilities Management System (DC-FMS) - I haven't had time to look at this one

Sensatronics Temperature Monitoring and Environmental Monitoring Products - Again i haven't had time to look

Sensaphone - Solutions for the Data Center - Seems to be popular

https://www.theclimate.co.uk/home.php - seems to be the ITWatchdogs product??

Applications AKCP - Data Center Monitoring - No idea about this one

Data Center Service Management - Maybe if you have a 50,000sq site but it's overkill



As i've only just started going through this list myself if anyone has any feedback on any of these product that they would like to share it would be of great assistance.


Cheers,

Jesse
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2009, 04:53 PM
ssims ssims is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richmond, Texas
Posts: 6
Default AKCP Monitor

AKCP is the easiest to use and can handle multiple types of input and output. It's also really cheap by comparison. Anyone can set it up and anyone can use it. It can also notify you remotely during an event.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2009, 08:38 PM
egihosting egihosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Jose
Posts: 5
Default

We use APC and graph the temp in hotter cabinets. Then we have it alert us should the temp drop or rise above a certain #
__________________
Energy Group Networks - Native -IPv6 Support
========================================
Streaming - Dedicated Servers - Colocation - Transit
408-228-4448 option 1
www.egihosting.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 AM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.