Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Prodcuts Reviews, Tools, Tips and Check List

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-01-2008, 05:23 AM
ha fool ha fool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Good tool, bad tool

I'm new at networking and I want to start making my own network wires/cables for my office. I ordered this crimping tool from www.lducompany.com (crimper should be here in a few days) and I wanted to learn if there are any other kinds of network cat5 wire crimping tools out there that would work better? http://www.liangdianup.com/inventory/459901.htm is the location for the crimp plires on thier website, those are the ones that I bought. Funny that it says Germany on the handle of the plires but I would gues they are made in China since the company I bought them from is in China. If you know of a name of a certin cat 5 wire crimper that would be better for me to use then please post it here. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:15 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default

Hi, and welcome to the forums. The crimper you have ordered may work just fine. If you find it lacking, people have good things to say about this one: http://www.kk.org/cooltools/archives/001762.php.


Ken
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2008, 10:54 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Posts: 225
Send a message via AIM to Keith Send a message via MSN to Keith
Default

Ken,
The one you posted is a great tool, when purchased with the proper connectors. The tool is really just an average tool if you use standard RJ-45 connectors. If you use their connectors, the cutter on the end can be very nice.

The only problem that I had with this tool is that the blade eventually wears out and stops cutting all the way. I think I went through 2 or 3 within a year. Oh and the connectors are kind of expensive too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2008, 04:32 PM
attagirl attagirl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 117
Default

Interesting that you want to make your own. Is there a particular reason why it is easier for you to make your own then to buy they. I do realize that often times they can be pricey, but curious in knowing the other benefits of making them your self.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2008, 08:03 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default

One reason to make your own cables is that you can make them exactly the length you want. A growing problem with high density cabling is management of slack loops.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2008, 06:23 PM
Neoeclectic Neoeclectic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 85
Default

Another reason is sometimes it's faster to just place a new termination on the end rather than running a whole new cable. I custom terminate basically everything from copper, coax, to fiber in my data center. It helps to create a cleaner looking environment because you won't have spaghetti slack loop every where, and because of our topology a horizontal run can be as long as 280'.

If a cable fails sometimes it's because of a faulty termination and it's easier to just spend 5 minutes terminating new ends, and certifying the cable using a cable certifier, rather than spending what could be hours to run a whole new cable.

Oh, and might I add it's more cost efficient. It's cheaper when you do them in bulk. I probably save about 30% in cable cost when I take the time to terminate my own bulk pulls. The total saves is about 15% once I factor out man hours.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2008, 08:21 PM
Keith's Avatar
Keith Keith is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Posts: 225
Send a message via AIM to Keith Send a message via MSN to Keith
Default

Oh, one of my favourite topics!!

Heres what I think about custom cables vs. premade cables.

I am a firm believer in cable management; as discussed so many times in my threads. I believe in making cables that fit like a glove. While it totally makes sense to do bulk cabling manually, I sometimes feel that it can be more beneficial, time wise, to use a premade cable that is sized properly for one or two off installs. Obviously, you cannot always expect a cable to always fit like a glove, but sometimes I do get lucky. I just cabled a rack a little bit ago where we only had premade cables available but the cables actually happened to fit like a glove going in to the patch panel.

That being said, I do not prefer using premade cabling in horizontal runs that go through a tray between cabinets. I will only ever consider using a premade cable where it is from server to switch that is located in a cabinet or server to patch panel that is located in a cabinet.

Also, for some reason, the wire that they use inside of a premade cable is close to impossible to reterimate! It takes me more time trying to customize a premade cable than it does to make a new one. I also do not believe in using super cheap premade cables. I prefer stiffer cables when cabling a rack. That is primarily so that the cable does not sag when it comes from the side of the cabinet to the NIC on the servers. 90 degree angles with a proper bend is the only way to go for me!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2008, 10:02 PM
Neoeclectic Neoeclectic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 85
Default

I agree 100% with everything you said especially about the firmness of the cables. I can't stand the copper that's not firm because they are tougher to reterminate. I generally prefer solid core over stranded copper for this very reason.

And it is easier to order premades for bulk pulls, but I find myself terminating the ends anyway to length because excess creates more problems than anything else. I do generally leave about 1' foot of slack and create a slack loop somewhere under the floor in case there's a moment where I need a little extra because we can reuse that cable for a nearby system if needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.