Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Prodcuts Reviews, Tools, Tips and Check List

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-01-2007, 02:40 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Thumbs up Power Cords

Comments in another thread about using IEC connectors for 208V power prompted me to recommend the following sources for power cords. I have found these two vendors extremely useful in supplying power cords in various lengths, configurations and connector types: Kord King and Quail Electronics.

Can anyone else recommend good sources for power cords?

Ken
__________________
DR/BC Planner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:32 PM
Rick Rick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 11
Default

Good post Ken. It looks like I get the quail 3500.039 from a local supplier. I am really trying to avoid using cable management arms and ty-wraps to bundle power cords and am much more in favor of using "right-sized" power cords that can be routed neatly. Knowing that they also carry .5M cords makes me want to go even shorter than I already do.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2007, 05:01 AM
cernst cernst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 70
Default

I've recently my vendor supplies Quail power cords. I'm looking to get right and left angle C13 heads so that I don't have loops going toward the center of the rack, then going back to the sides of the rack for cable management.

On a side note, I got a peek at the standard build for one of our HP servers...HP wants 56 bucks a pop for a single cable. I get the quail pair for 15. :/ c'mon HP, your cords aren't that special.
__________________
YRCW Technologies
Kansas City
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:41 AM
Zitibake Zitibake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Default

Sort-of unrelated, but has anyone seen a vendor with a L6-30 Y-cable (with two L6-30R receptacles)? Alternatively, a rack-mount power bar with one L6-30P plug, and a pair of L6-30R receptacles would work too.

I've seen Y-cables with L6-30P and two C20 plugs, but that's it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:58 PM
cernst cernst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 70
Default

You might want to give ServerTech or Geist a call. Both do custom hardware work and might be able to help you out with a power bar.
__________________
YRCW Technologies
Kansas City
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:55 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zitibake View Post
Sort-of unrelated, but has anyone seen a vendor with a L6-30 Y-cable (with two L6-30R receptacles)? Alternatively, a rack-mount power bar with one L6-30P plug, and a pair of L6-30R receptacles would work too.

I've seen Y-cables with L6-30P and two C20 plugs, but that's it.
We use Powerware PDU2408N2 rack PDUs for this. If you do find a Y cord, please post a source.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:09 AM
Zitibake Zitibake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Default

Thanks! That one will work. I found the power strip at
http://www.powerware.com/ups/rack_pdu_specs.asp

If I find a Y-cord, I'll let you know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.