Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Discuss about Datacenter Software/Hardware Related Issues.

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-03-2009, 02:49 PM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default Network Monitoring

Hey guys,

After spending the last week rebuilding our Cacti install to give it a standard feel for our routers/ switches etc.. I was wondering what SNMP systems people use out there.

Also, what are you using to do more in-depth network monitoring (such as Netflow). I used pmacct a few years ago, but found that it didn't scale too well, I believe many of the issues have been resolved, but would like to get people's opinions on this.

PS: Cacti, with Spine and boost is great now. Got it doing ~10k polls in under 50 seconds with thold monitoring and building weathermaps - and the CLI makes adding devices and all interfaces in a standard manner sooo much faster!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:03 PM
cernst cernst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 70
Default

SysUpTime...but I monitor power strips and UPS units.
__________________
YRCW Technologies
Kansas City
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2009, 03:47 PM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cernst View Post
SysUpTime...but I monitor power strips and UPS units.
Could you give me a link to that application? A bit of googling just returns the SNMP MIB primarily for me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2009, 04:46 PM
cernst cernst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 70
Default

Free Network Monitor / SNMP Monintor / Network Management Software / Network Monitoring Software / Server Monitor / Application Monitor / Network Monitor

it is built for monitoring networks...but is so customizable, it works great to monitor just about anything with an OID.
__________________
YRCW Technologies
Kansas City
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2009, 11:18 PM
PhantomNOC PhantomNOC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

I use Nagios and perfdata output to PNP4 for all of my monitoring and graphing. Works great and is highly scalable. Cacti is great just graphing, however if you want to set thresholds for 64 bit SNMP counters, it seems to have some issues.
__________________
PhantomNOC - Intelligent. Reliable. Who's Running Your Server?
Server Monitoring, Security, and Full Administration - Linux, Unix, Windows, Control Panels
Phantom Networks LLC - http://www.phantomnoc.com - 888.443.1523
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:26 AM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomNOC View Post
Cacti is great just graphing, however if you want to set thresholds for 64 bit SNMP counters, it seems to have some issues.
What issues are you seeing? I've got nearly 8000 polls going with 64bit based counters and thresholds applied to all which are working.

One thing you have to remember is that the data stored is in bytes, not bits - so you must set your threshold in bytes (ie: 10Mbps = 1250000 ((X*1000*1000)/8) = Y, where X is the number of Mbps and Y is the bytes).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2010, 12:30 PM
directspace directspace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Although it is more of a one user system, I found that Solarwinds Network Engineers toolset works well when you need to know PPS, Bandwidth, Connections and such on an entire switch. It also give the ability to shut off ports from one click.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2010, 03:42 PM
anil.chandaliya anil.chandaliya is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Manage Engine http://www.manageengine.com/ is also one of the best tool for Netflow protocol. Two interfaces can be monitored on free version.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2010, 03:39 AM
izumi777 izumi777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I use Cacti and it works just fine.
__________________
Affordable, Reliable Hosting and VPS Solutions
Quality Host Excellent Support
Powered By HOSTNEVERDIE Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2010, 11:10 AM
Jaflosan Jaflosan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

It is possible to monitor anything so long as it goes through your a device that is capable of monitoring it, unencrypted.

However from what I gather, you wish to monitor anything going through a wireless router. In order to do that, your wireless router must support the feature -- if it does, it will usually be stated in your user manual.
__________________
suchmaschinet | berlin apartment | mannequin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 AM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.