Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data center general discussion and solution

Reply

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-20-2009, 06:13 PM
tom tom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 58
Default power outage question

How do you guys normally handle the power outage. Our datacenter has ups as backup, but we need to manually kicked in when power goes down. Is it the regular design?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 08:18 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 468
Default

In my experience it would be strange to have a UPS on a manual switch, since this would defeat its main purpose: to prevent a server outage. On the other hand, sometimes generators must be started or switched into service manually, before the UPS batteries run out. Is this your situation?


Ken
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2009, 05:52 PM
dcrelocation dcrelocation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Most design are automatic transfer of power to generator - What you want to validate is that the UPS service can support full power until generator is at speed to support the transfer. I have run into a couple of situation that put data centers on old Generator and the timing and load do not meet the requirements of the data center.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 09:48 AM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom View Post
How do you guys normally handle the power outage. Our datacenter has ups as backup, but we need to manually kicked in when power goes down. Is it the regular design?
That seems quite a strange setup Tom - I would expect all critical computer equipment to be on the good side of the UPS. Generally I have it laid out like this. If you do have a problem with your UPS, you want to be able to bypass it, likewise, you want to be able to bypass your ATS if the very worst should happen.

Code:
Generator         Main's Input
       |             |
       +------+------+
	      |
        Bypass Unit--+
	      |       |
             ATS     |
              |      |
        Bypass Unit--+
              |      |
             UPS     |
              +------+
     Distribution Panels
Apologies for my terrible ASCII art
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2009, 03:50 AM
tom tom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks a lot for all the information. Do we need to have backup to backup UPS system? If we are running very critical application like, trading floor application?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2009, 09:58 AM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom View Post
Thanks a lot for all the information. Do we need to have backup to backup UPS system? If we are running very critical application like, trading floor application?
In this situation, run everything with A+B feeds from multiple UPS's, fed from differenet generators if it is mission critical.

Oh, and perform regular testing to make sure that everything fails over correctly - obviously in a nice scheduled window out side of trading hours
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2009, 11:32 AM
tom tom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Schumie,

Thank you for the info. Most of the servers are cluster and we are keeping it in same datacenter. Would recommend to keep them in different datacenter? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:03 PM
Schumie Schumie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Thatcham, UK
Posts: 160
Send a message via MSN to Schumie
Default

Easy one to figure out:

What is the cost of designing your system to work over multiple data centres VS what is your lost profit should your systems not be available.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2009, 03:21 PM
tom tom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Customer is willing to spend more money, but my questions is that is it reliable to have cluster box in different datacenter? Can we easily mange hearbeat signal?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:33 PM
jamesb jamesb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Default

The UPS seems like a must but what to do when a long power outage occurs. I think that the only solution would be to get a large backup generator which would kick in before the UPS dies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Member Area



Data Center Industry Daily News


Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.