Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums

Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums (http://www.datacentertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Network and Telecom Forum (http://www.datacentertalk.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Hub or Switch? (http://www.datacentertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=181)

Daryl 09-29-2004 10:44 PM

Hub or Switch?
 
Hi,

I have two computers getting ADSL through a router.
One of the computers is in the room1 and I would like to use that
cable to connect additional computers to the ADSL.
What i better to use? A switch or a hub? :(

10x

Denis 09-29-2004 11:33 PM

Hi,

Hubs take a broadcast approach - all messages go to all devices
connected to the hub. Switches route the messages only to the
devices they are addressed to. A switch uses the network more
efficiently. Hub max speed is 10Mbps, switch is 100Mbps.
Hub is half-duplex (send or receive) while switch is full-duplex
(send and receive at the same time). You decide. :)

whcdavid 09-30-2004 04:12 AM

I would recommend switch which has more featues and you can see the performance.

Jatos 09-30-2004 06:51 AM

If your getting a relatively small network (about 5-10 computers) and you are not using for tasks that use a lot of bandwidth, ie ont regular sharing of sizable files, not multi games, and not running programs over it get a hub, if you need an effecient network get a switch, this is best for network that are larger than about 10 computers, or ones that take high bandwidth tasks.

ddemetrius456 12-07-2009 12:47 PM

Hub is the best option for you. Switch is good for a bigger network
________________
Advertising

India_Hosting 01-03-2010 09:43 PM

Adsl
 
Asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) is a form of DSL, a data communications technology that enables faster data transmission over copper telephone lines than a conventional voiceband modem can provide.

And Hub has some limitation I would prefer you to say that you need to use switch rather then use hub.

Hub generally I found trouble with my previous connections and thus I always use switch..

Thanks

mehboob 01-12-2010 06:13 PM

Hubs are cheaper but switch would assist you into getting your work done in an efficient way!!

newman9800 02-23-2010 05:28 AM

Hub is the best option for you. Switch is good for a bigger network.I would prefer you to say that you need to use switch rather then use hub.
__________________________________________________ ______
Etnies
Fly London Shoes

arpianna11 06-26-2010 05:45 AM

Hubs are cheaper but switch would assist you into getting your work done in an efficient way!!
________________________________
Medicosinternational - Operative Dentistry

mrphantuan 12-31-2010 08:14 PM

I would recommend switch which has more featues and you can see the performance.
Reply With Quote


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.