Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Design, Development, Building Systems and Operations

Old 02-17-2009, 09:26 PM

Question Best Practices for Distributing Power Load Across Redundant PDUs

All -

Looking for some recommendations or best practices for calculating power load and how to properly distrubute across redundant pdu's. I'm a newbie so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 02-17-2009, 11:25 PM
Administrator

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Not to be obvious, but actual power load can be measured easily at several points in the distribution system, depending on your interest. And, the best way to balance loads with redundant PDUs is to split the load between them, making sure that neither circuit is loaded to more than 50% of capacity.

Can you elaborate on what you mean? Is this a homework assignment, or are you involved with an actual data center?

Ken
Old 02-18-2009, 03:47 AM

Thanks for the reply KenB and the welcome to the forum.

Yes, It's an actual data center assignment, I'm new to this portion of it. I've split up my equiptment across the pdu's for redundancy, but wasn't sure how to properly calculate the power load from each device.

I guess what I'm really looking for the is the correct calculation for determining power load for each device or rack. From their I should be able to accuratley track the amount of power load for each pdu after I've applied the power draw from it.

Last edited by vhickman; 02-18-2009 at 03:58 AM.
Old 02-18-2009, 01:18 PM

Send a message via MSN to Schumie

You'll want to take reading on your equipment.

Depending on the granularity of what you're looking for... if you have decent PDU's then they might have this functionality for a total built in.

Your DC provide may also be monitoring at the breakers and be able to give you an accurate reading as well.
Old 02-18-2009, 01:52 PM