Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data center general discussion and solution

Old 03-06-2006, 09:37 AM
slicemaster101

Question Server co-location questions and bandwidth requirements.

Well,
I am very new to the concept of server co-location but it seems like a cost effective solution for attaching ones servers and or network equipment to some heavy duty bandwidth with out having to invest the large sums of cash required to pull in dedicated lines (aka T-1, T-3, etc.) to your own location. It actually seems like a more cost effective solution considering most co-lo datacenters also take care of security (secured locations with CC surveillance, armed guards, etc.), electricity (UPS, diesel back-up generators, etc.), etc. anyways, I am considering co-locating a 4U server just to mess around with and develop an asterisk telephony infrastructure for coordinating and facilitating VoIP communications. I am actually hoping to use my server to centralize my telephony operations using Asterisk. Now that you know what I will be using the server for I was wondering if you could clarify some things about co-location for me. First, is bandwidth, I have been digging around the web and have found different services advertising different connections. For example, some advertise 10 or even 100mbps un-metered, while others offer say, 3,300Gigs of transfers a month, 20mbps burstable to 100mbps with 3,300Gigs of transfers a month, 1 Mbps Bandwidth, Equivalent to 330GIGs, or 5mbps dedicated. What does all this mean; it seems a bit confusing as to what I actually will get with each of these options. As you might be able to tell, I am a little frustrated and confused as to how the concept of bandwidth works at a co-lo. I understand the 95th percentile system just for the record. Anyways, I would just like some advice. What type of bandwidth would I need for my application? What are the difference