Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Prodcuts Reviews, Tools, Tips and Check List

Old 09-01-2008, 05:23 AM

Default Good tool, bad tool

I'm new at networking and I want to start making my own network wires/cables for my office. I ordered this crimping tool from www.lducompany.com (crimper should be here in a few days) and I wanted to learn if there are any other kinds of network cat5 wire crimping tools out there that would work better? http://www.liangdianup.com/inventory/459901.htm is the location for the crimp plires on thier website, those are the ones that I bought. Funny that it says Germany on the handle of the plires but I would gues they are made in China since the company I bought them from is in China. If you know of a name of a certin cat 5 wire crimper that would be better for me to use then please post it here. Thank you
Old 09-01-2008, 01:15 PM
Administrator

Hi, and welcome to the forums. The crimper you have ordered may work just fine. If you find it lacking, people have good things to say about this one: http://www.kk.org/cooltools/archives/001762.php.

Ken
Old 09-15-2008, 10:54 PM
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to Keith Send a message via MSN to Keith

Ken,
The one you posted is a great tool, when purchased with the proper connectors. The tool is really just an average tool if you use standard RJ-45 connectors. If you use their connectors, the cutter on the end can be very nice.

The only problem that I had with this tool is that the blade eventually wears out and stops cutting all the way. I think I went through 2 or 3 within a year. Oh and the connectors are kind of expensive too.
Old 10-30-2008, 04:32 PM