Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data center general discussion and solution

Old 01-26-2005, 04:27 PM
arglbargl

Default Process, procedures, policies - oh my!

I am new to the Data Center environment. In my new role, I am in charge of managing processes/procedures/policies and metrics for our Data Center. I am looking to build a network of resources (i.e. people, forums, websites, blogs, etc.) to help me in my new role. Eventually I hope to be one of the available resources that others can tap into.

We are currently consolidating most of our Data Centers as well as in-sourcing operations support. I will try to investigate and collect existing process documentation that we own but unfortunately most of the current documentation is owned by the vendor(s) who currently manage our various Data Centers.

With Sarbanes-Oxley compliance deadlines quickly approaching, we have scheduled internal audits to be conducted starting March 1st, 2005. All that to say that I have a lot to do in the next month. I am hoping that the datacentertalk.com community will be willing to help me. First of all, I am looking for feedback/examples as to what the most common, best practice processes need to be in place for Data Center operations along with how Sarbanes-Oxley impacts my objectives. The reality of my situation is that I am not afforded the time to reinvent the Data Center work process wheel.

The following are some of the areas that I have quickly identified as area that will need many processes/procedures developed:

1) Data Center Facilities
- Asset Management
- Cleaning
- Emergency
- Escalation
- Monitoring
- Physical Layout Maintenance
- Physical Security
- Physical/Environmental Facilities Operations
2) Server, 3) Mainframe, 4) Storage and 5) Tape Operations
- Availability Monitoring
- Backup
- Adds/Moves/Removes/Disposal
- Operator/SA Interaction
- Technical Emergencies