Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Datacenter, Colocation, Cloud Hosting, Managed Hosting Reviews

Old 03-13-2006, 06:01 AM
nkyam

Default Data Center Basics

Greetings to all,
Im a newly hired programmer of a forwarding company and we have 600 branches nationwide. I was tasked to supervise our newly structured Data Center, I would like to ask help from you guys in filling some questions in my mind.

- Concept of a Data Center
- Operations / Procedures

We have a NOC that takes care of the network and other stuff, my boss jst told me that Data centers will provide the necessary reports needed by our custormers, and still I cant fully comprehend that concept, it seem that there is a deeper meaning to a Data Center.

I hope you can give me alot of advices.

Thanks,

Nap
Old 03-16-2006, 05:32 PM
NACmwinship

A data center is simply a place to house your servers / networking equipment. Hopefully it has some type of physical security in place and redundant power / cooling systems.
Old 03-17-2006, 03:18 PM
Banned

I'm not sure about the reports that you boss mentioned. But the key concept to remember about data centers is reliability. You need to create an environment where your servers and network equipment have the greatest chance of operating reliably. This means that you need to be sure that the equipment has a reliable source of data center grade electrical power. Typically, to get this power you will need at least one UPS and a standby generator.
You also need reliable data center grade air conditioning. There are special air conditioners for data centers. These air conditioners control temperature and humidity.
There are dozens of other things to consider; maintenance, testing, commissioning, static electricity control, cleanliness, infrastructure monitoring, physical security, fire suppression, life safety, and on and on. But, reliable power and air are a good start.