Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data center general discussion and solution

Old 08-06-2012, 08:26 PM

Default Looking For Ideas

I'm looking to setup a single cabinet in an office that my friend and I just signed a lease on. We've been hounded about the idea of setting up a cabinet with people saying, "Just use portable hard drives!" Well, we would, but since we record game play and video footage on a daily basis that would fill up a 500GB hard drive in less than two weeks (this includes raw footage, audio files, and final videos) PLUS we're both in a computer based degree path, we're looking to setup a sort of storage rack.

Uses:

Web Server
Mass Storage

I'm new to the whole networking/data center thing, so the more information I can get, the better. We're also looking at using 2nd hand HP Proliant or Dell PowerEdge systems since we're on a tight budget. Basically, what would we need to accomplish the tasks listed above. We're mostly looking for storage that we can access when we're not at the office.
Old 08-06-2012, 09:21 PM
Administrator

Hi and welcome to the forums. Seems to me your simplest approaches are 1) set up a LAMP environment on your own used server and disks just decide on a strategy to accommodate your growing data storage needs or 2) look into hosting services that will provide the required web and data storage environment for you. Option 1 is pricier to set up and requires IT and network skills on your part; option 2 is easier and cheaper to set up, but may be more costly long term, depending on how your needs grow.

Hope that helps.

Ken
Old 08-07-2012, 07:54 PM