Go Back   Data Center, Colocation, Cloud Computing, Storage, Dedicated Servers Forums > General DataCenter Discussion Forum > Data Center Prodcuts Reviews, Tools, Tips and Check List

Closed Thread

 

Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-30-2012, 05:17 AM
bell bell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 78
Default power strip recommendations

Hello,

I am refitting the racks in our data center with new vertical power strips. I have about 39" - 41" of vertical space.

I've been looking at the CyberPower PDU20BV16F (16 outlet 20A max) power strips, which will cost me about $200 per strip. but i was hoping to find an inexpensive alternative that could serve the purpose just as well.

i'm ok with not having any reporting or alerting mechanism in the strips.
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 06:26 AM
jackton jackton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 45
Default

hi bell,

have you tried Tripplite PDUMV20? we use that in our data center and i find they serve the purpose. they are cheap too. they also have a somewhat accurate display of the current usage as well.
  #3  
Old 04-12-2012, 08:52 PM
Neoeclectic Neoeclectic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 87
Default

I would recommend Geist but no particular model. They have a wide selection of vertical power trips in the 20A-30A variety. Depending on the reseller you can find them for as little as $150.

Though I would recommend against 20A because you wouldn't be maximizing the density potential of your enclosure. But I guess that really depends on how the entirety of your power plant is setup.

But I always tell people to go bigger and better in the begining and suggest smart power strips of the variety that MRV and APC offers. But those are quite a bit more expensive.
  #4  
Old 04-20-2012, 08:12 AM
bell bell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 78
Default

Hi Neoeclectic,

Thank you for the suggestion. our data center does not require 30A per rack as of now. but i'm guessing it is better to have a foresight in these matters. but i'm not sure if $150 per PDU is something we can afford at this point. Do you know of another brand that could come in handy?

Sweetgreen,

tripplite is a brand that i have already looked into. they do not have as many outlets as i require.
  #5  
Old 04-20-2012, 02:05 PM
KenB's Avatar
KenB KenB is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackton View Post
hi bell,

have you tried Tripplite PDUMV20? we use that in our data center and i find they serve the purpose. they are cheap too. they also have a somewhat accurate display of the current usage as well.
Probably your best deal. These are $104 from Amazon, so if you shop around you might be able to do a bit better. Frankly, I wouldn't want my servers plugged into the absolute cheapest power strip I could find.


Ken
__________________
DR/BC Planner
  #6  
Old 04-26-2012, 07:57 PM
jvanderveen jvanderveen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 8
Default

I found it for a hundred flat. Check the shipping though.
http://www.provantage.com/tripp-lite...0~7TRPL1L5.htm
  #7  
Old 03-14-2013, 04:20 PM
futurehosting futurehosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

APC remote reboot strips are a personal favorite. They work flawlessly with apc cabinets.
  #8  
Old 04-08-2013, 11:34 PM
ITivan80 ITivan80 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 16
Default

We currently use the following model APC 2 AP7863 APC. It has an awesome web based management.
__________________
COLOCATIONAMERICA.COMô Itís All About Connections...ô
░ Colocation, Dedicated Servers, Premium Bandwidth, 24/7 Support!
░ Data Centers in Los Angeles New York New Jersey San Francisco Chicago
░ Email Sales@ColocationAmerica.com for a quote or call 888-505-COLO! ツ
  #9  
Old 04-19-2013, 08:48 AM
KVChosting KVChosting is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 57
Default

I think the OP has already solved his issue.
  #10  
Old 01-16-2014, 02:02 AM
dukzcry dukzcry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Default

Though I would recommend against 20A because you wouldn't be maximizing the density potential of your enclosure. But I guess that really depends on how the entirety of your power plant is setup.
__________________
Purchase high-speed cable or optical modules go:
http://www.10gtek.com
http://www.sfpcables.com
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.

Member Area




Cloud and Dedicated Hosting


Sponsors Managed Servers Sponsored by DedicatedNOW
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.